Manchester City have won the Premier League title for the past two seasons

The 2019-20 Premier League season will start with Champions League winners Liverpool hosting promoted Norwich City on Friday, 9 August.

Champions Manchester City will open the defence of their title the following day with a trip to West Ham.

Aston Villa and Sheffield United, the other promoted teams, play Tottenham and Bournemouth respectively.

For the first time in Premier League history, the clubs will get a short mid-season break in February.

The break will be staggered over a two-week period. There will be only five matches on one weekend, with the other five games from that round taking place the following weekend, ensuring that each team gets one week off.

The opening weekend will also see Manchester United hosting Chelsea on Sunday, 11 August.

The opening weekend in full

DateMatchKick-off time
9 Aug 2019Liverpool v Norwich City20:00 BST
10 Aug 2019West Ham v Manchester City12:30 BST
10 Aug 2019Bournemouth v Sheffield United15:00 BST
10 Aug 2019Burnley v Southampton15:00 BST
10 Aug 2019Crystal Palace v Everton15:00 BST
10 Aug 2019Leicester City v Wolves15:00 BST
10 Aug 2019Watford v Brighton15:00 BST
10 Aug 2019Tottenham v Aston Villa17:30 BST
11 Aug 2019Newcastle United v Arsenal14:00 BST
11 Aug 2019Manchester United v Chelsea16:30 BST

Busy start for some teams

The season’s curtain raiser will take place with the Community Shield between Liverpool and Manchester City at Wembley on Sunday, 4 August.

Liverpool and Europa League winners Chelsea will also meet in the Uefa Super Cup in Istanbul, Turkey, on Wednesday, 14 August.

Following that match, Liverpool play their second Premier League match, away to Southampton, while Chelsea host Leicester City.

Wolves could have played three Europa League qualifying matches before the beginning of the Premier League season.

The mid-season break in more detail

There will be a total of 380 Premier League games during the 2019-20 season.

The split of matches in February will see five matches take place over the weekend of 8 February, with the other five played on the weekend of 15 February.

All five matches on each weekend will be broadcast live in the United Kingdom.

At present, all the games are scheduled for 8 February but these will be broken up when the broadcast picks for that period are announced in mid-December.

More to follow.

emergency plumbers cricklewood

Source link

Comments 0

Leave a Comment